The best-laid schemes o' mice an men

Sharper than the sharpest two-edged sword

2 Comments

For the word of God is alive and powerful. It is sharper than the sharpest two-edged sword, cutting between soul and spirit, between joint and marrow. It exposes our innermost thoughts and desires.
Hebrews 4:12

Words have power, read Proverbs and the impact of spoken words is not dealt with lightly…

Death and life are in the power of the tongue,
    and those who love it will eat its fruits.

We are by no means to take how and what we speak lightly, but I want to deal with something far more powerful than the words of humans. The word of God. What I am discovering, is when God speaks things change within me, my spirit is refreshed and what before existed in merely human understanding becomes life-giving and fruit-producing in a way I struggle to find the words to explain. But here is my attempt to move beyond vague Christian cliche’s.

Previously I shared a bit about the panic attacks I had experienced and how anxiety was attempting to steal my joy, and since then I’ve still been fighting it – not in flesh and blood but with the full armour of God (Jesus). There’s been some awful moments of poor appetite, racing heart, a tight chest. And I don’t want to diss Cognitive Behavioural Therapy [CBT] because it’s helped many people, but in my own experience I found it deficient in achieving real freedom and joy. So I’ve been pressing in to God like never before in my walk. Starting with giving to Jesus the best of my time (that moment when the kids have gone to bed and all you want is a cup of tea and Netflix) and obedience to his word.

Often (for some reason) God has spoken to me through the words of Joyce Meyer. I love her teaching, but I have also often thought to myself that it’s largely common sense/self-help wisdom she teaches. A few times now, I’ve read a bible verse that’s grabbed me, only to have it explained (in the same day) through a Joyce Meyer devotion or book I’ve been reading. At no time did I stop and think, “wow, Joyce Meyer gets me, she is so wise”, of course she is wise and I have nothing but respect for her ministry…but in that moment all I can do is say, “thank you Jesus” and be in awe of God’s word given directly for my life.

The revelations I’ve had have not been amazing moments of insight…and I could share them here and many would say to themselves – well that’s common sense. I’ve done this before, when you grow up in a Christian church you hear most types of sermons, but that’s where the power of God’s word totally trumps any words you and I could ever utter. Because when God chooses to say something to you…no matter how many times it’s been heard before, this time it pierces soul and spirit. This time change happens within the depths of who we are that it’s impossible to explain fully in words.

Such is the glory of God, that I could talk till the cows come home and change no one. But when God uses me or you to speak into another person, lives/souls/minds are transformed… and there’s no disputing that the glory is all his.

What did God say to me? “Let go”. It was a word that in that moment for me…I needed to hear, but more importantly, I was ready to hear. And so I did. I let go of trying to control the situations causing me so much anxiety, and I trusted (like really trusted) in God’s goodness. This was not a faith and trust through sheer will-power and determination “okay God…I’ll have faith”. No. This was a faith and trust in God that came only by hearing….and only by hearing the word straight from God. And it was almost instantaneous, the peace that flooded my soul, the knowledge that God is good. I’ve had to deal with fear still trying to worm it’s way into my thoughts…but I go straight to that word from God, He is Good, trust in Him.

I got here with God’s guidance and my love for the person of Jesus has grown so much the past six months. I’m excited again about the future…I actually can’t comprehend where I would be without Jesus, it’s too dark to imagine. Press in to God, read the bible from Revelations working backwards through to the gospels…the message of obedience is sharp.

For a long time I was full of thorns, the busyness of life, the pleasure of Netflix and putting my feet up each night.

“…The seed that fell among the thorns represent those who hear the message but all to quickly the message is crowded out by the cares and riches and pleasure of this life. And so they never grow into maturity.”
Luke  8:14

It’s no wonder God’s words were choked out so quickly from my life, never maturing and producing fruit. Good soil “hears God’s words” and “clings to it…patiently.”

2 thoughts on “Sharper than the sharpest two-edged sword

  1. Just brilliant Jean; the message, your writing. This whole post oozes peace.

Leave a Reply

